New thing #1: A Lesbian Wedding in Narnia

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)A few nights ago I asked my best friend, Ria, what I should do for the first day of my 31 new things project. I told her that it should be something fun, interesting, and really starts the month off of right. She thought for a minute, and said, “I’m doing the makeup for a wedding on Saturday, come with me! It’s a lesbian wedding, and it’s Chronicles of Narnia themed. Dressing up is encouraged.”

I loved this idea for my first new thing. Attending a lesbian Narnia wedding is definitely something I’ve never done before, and I would venture a guess that it’s something no one has ever done before.

I’ve never even been to the wedding of a same sex couple. I can’t say that it’s been a bucket list thing of mine (mostly because I wouldn’t think it would be much different from a straight person’s wedding), but given the progress that gay couples have made in the recent years with their right to wed, I was bound to go to one soon enough.

And can we talk about the Chronicles of Narnia theme for a minute? Like… what? I’ve never been to a theme wedding either, but as far as themes go, I thought this was a pretty great one. Not only is it a great story, but there has never been an easier set up for coming out of the closet jokes in the history of the world. I knew I wouldn’t wear a costume, but I did find the perfect accessory: see freakishly large lion necklace below.

IMG_3933

I have been to lots of weddings, but have never been to a stranger’s wedding before. It seemed odd to intrude on someone’s wedding day, but the brides and their friends were very welcoming. We got there two hours early so Ria could makeup the girls, so Dominique (our other friend who came with us) and I were immediately recruited to help. I hung decorations, set up tables, lay down the cloth that served as the isle, and covered everything in the room with glitter. I also helped some of the wedding party get ready. I did more set up work than for the weddings I was actually in. Reina, one of the brides, even wore my bracelet as her “something borrowed.”

The getting ready part was chaotic, as it is for most weddings, but Dominique and I managed to sneak away for a few minutes to play on the swings at the neighboring park.

I’m not generally crazy for weddings the way some women are, but I’m glad I went to this one. The ceremony was lovely, and as I assumed, no different than a straight person’s wedding. The minister spoke about friendship, loyalty, commitment, and love, and was even able to tie in the Chronicles of Narnia somehow. He told the couple that weddings are not only a declaration of love to each other, but also a public declaration of love to your friends, family, the law, and the world.

I’m excited to be living in a time when it’s not only becoming more acceptable, but commonplace, for gay couples to make that declaration.

Congratulations, Reina and Carolina!

One more thing…

The wedding favor— a little box of goodies that included a tiny lion figurine —gave me a great idea to collect small mementos from each of my new things. 

4 thoughts on “New thing #1: A Lesbian Wedding in Narnia

  1. You have some blog here! I was thoroughly impressed, awe-struck, and filled with warmth and joy over how you, Sierra, and the others pitched in to make our day truly magical. Your accessories did not go unnoticed. You rocked with that lion medallion! I am also glad your blog and photos showed the beautiful and light side of the day, hahaha! Thank you for letting me borrow your lovely leaf bracelet. From all the myriad of moments that day, I will remember your smile and the joy you brought to the day! Thank you again and i am glad you had a good time!
    -Reina(One of the Narnia Brides)

Leave a Reply

