New thing #4: BodyCombat

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Tonight I tried Les Miller’s BodyCombat workout.

And I thought I looked dorky doing Zumba!

It’s easy for me to fall into ruts, especially at the gym, so trying a new class was one of the first things I put on my list. I had nothing specific in mind, I just looked at what worked with my schedule, and from there picked the only one I hadn’t tried yet: BodyCombat. I had never heard of it before, and in case you haven’t either, here is the description from the website:

BODYCOMBAT™ is the empowering group fitness cardio workout where you are totally unleashed. This fiercely energetic program is inspired by mixed martial arts and draws from a wide array of disciplines such as karate, boxing, taekwondo, tai chi and muay thai… During this ultimate warrior workout, you’ll strike, punch, kick and kata your way through calories to superior cardio fitness.”

I think I would need to go to a few more classes before feeling “totally unleashed.” The workout was good, I was definitely sweating, but I felt like I was half-assing the intensity as I struggled with the fairly simple choreography. It’s easy, but fast, and most of the time my brain couldn’t keep up. I hooked when I was supposed to jab, did single knees on the double count, and messed up more than one kata. I was a total spaz (although the teacher was nice enough to lie to me and told me that I did great). Meanwhile, the 70+ year old woman in front of me was kicking ass.

The good news for me though, is that I wasn’t the only spaz. A great thing about the gym is that you are never the most uncoordinated or out of shape person. There is always someone better, and there is also always someone who’s having just as much, if not more trouble than you are, and that’s okay! We all progress together.

Check out some BodyCombat moves on YouTube here.

One thought on “New thing #4: BodyCombat

  1. Hey, think I’ll take a class too. Not sure about Combat since my knees are hurting right now but should be able to find something. Find a class you like and stick with it (what profound fatherly advise).
    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

