New thing #9: Wine Tasting

I put wine tasting on my new things list even though I’m not a big drinker and don’t know the first thing about wine. There’s something about going wine tasting though that seems so grown up. It’s also a huge waste that I live an hour from Napa, one of the world’s most famous wine regions, and never go. Luckily, I know some very cool people who do know something about wine. Today my friends Clara, Steve, Brandon, Alexis and I, toured Hall Rutherford winery. Clara is a member and was able to book us a free tour and tasting.

Our guide, Mark, started the tour by showing us the vines and told us about their process and facilities. I picked up bits and pieces of what he was saying, but I was so distracted by the beauty of the place. Everything about the property was gorgeous, from the view and the smells in the air, to the architecture and artwork. Not to mention thanks to our recent bout of rain, the whole region was green and blooming.

For the next stop on the tour we went down to “the caves,” where we learned more about the history of the winery. We also sampled a wine from one of the lined up barrels that won’t be bottled and sold to the public until late next year.

A long hallway led to a big room with the most stunning chandelier I’ve ever seen (the architects literally had to build the room around it). There was a long table set up with three red wines to taste (my favorite was the Pinot), some bits of cheese and salami, and a personalized menu. I loved hearing about the different flavors in each wine, and after finishing all my samples, I loved everything (especially my buzz).

After Rutherford, we stopped by another winery, then went to a fancy restaurant for dinner. All in all, it was a great day filled with new things. Thanks again to my friends for letting me be their 5th wheel, and thanks especially to Clara for planning it!

3 thoughts on “New thing #9: Wine Tasting

  1. Welcome to the “grown up” world. You are now a sophisticate my dalling. Oh these children grow up so fast. You had a great idea by knowing someone who is a club member, that’s a great way to go. Are you ready to move to Napa now?
    Lovey, Lovey,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

