New thing #24: Spontaneous Road Trip

IMG_5457

Today was my birthday, and besides for taking the day off work and having dinner with my mom and brother, I had no plans for the day. I’ve been so busy that I didn’t think much about what to do on my actual birthday. This is very unlike me. As evidenced by this blog, I’m a planner. But as I try to remind myself often, sometimes it’s better not to have a plan.

I was so exhausted from yesterday (not to mention from this whole month) that I slept in till noon and didn’t feel much like doing anything. When I finally managed to drag my ass out of bed, I knew I had to get it together enough to pick a new thing. I lazed around the house, took my time getting ready, and before I knew it the day was half over. I thought, just get in your car, and see where it takes you. After all, I did put on my new things list “something spontaneous,” because I definitely could use the practice.

As my car headed towards Clayton, CA, I thought how nice it was just to drive. I spend a lot of time in the car every day on my commute, but driving feels a lot less like a chore when you have nowhere to be. So I decided to just keep driving.

For any good road trip— even short, impulsive ones— you need the following: good music (Road Trippin’ Radio on Pandora), snacks (stopped at CVS to pick some up), and a scenic road (luckily I was headed in the right direction). I started driving down Marsh Creek Road, and just kept going. I didn’t make any turns, I drove straight ahead till I felt like turning around. It was a perfect Spring day for it too. 75 degrees, miles of green hills, blooming poppies, and every kind of animal. I saw the typical ones for this area: horses, sheep, cows, birds, squirrels, etc. I also saw a rabbit, a deer, and even a tarantula, yikes!

After that I went home for some dinner, cupcakes, and a movie with Mom and Mason. Check out the card Mason got me (see in the pic below), so perfect. All in all, a lovely birthday.

 

IMG_5452

2 thoughts on “New thing #24: Spontaneous Road Trip

  1. Hey when I get my new car, we’ll road trip together. Gonna take some doin to beat Mel and mine’s road trip to Glacier. 3886 miles. Maybe we’ll take that trip to Utah Parks someday. Happy drivin

    Luv , Dad
    P.S. What you get for Bday?

Leave a Reply

